Added to List
Removed from List
The request failed. Please make sure you are connected to the Internet and try again. If this does not help, we will be happy to support you by e-mail at support@filmingo.de or by phone at +41 (0)56 430 12 30
In order to create a list, please log in or register in case you do not have an account yet.

Yaaba

Idrissa Ouedraogo, Burkina Faso, 1989

Ten year old Bila and his cousin Nopoko live happily in their Sahelian village. Bila is taken with an elderly woman, Sana, whom he calls «Yaaba», although the rest of the village treats her as a witch. One day, Nopoko falls ill with tetanus; her condition worsens. Nobody in the village, not even the healer, can help her - except, perhaps, Sana. Yaaba is one of Idrissa Ouedraogo’s major works and typical for his approach: "My Africa is not only about masks, dances and cottages, it's about love, friendship and reflecting on the world," says the maverick director, who is aware of Western film codes but refuses them, who remains rooted in Africa despite his many travels.
Ten year old Bila and his cousin Nopoko live happily in their Sahelian village. Bila is taken with an elderly woman, Sana, whom he calls «Yaaba», although the rest of the village treats her as a witch. One day, Nopoko falls ill with tetanus; her condition worsens. Nobody in the village, not even the healer, can help her - except, perhaps, Sana. Yaaba is one of Idrissa Ouedraogo’s major works and typical for his approach: "My Africa is not only about masks, dances and cottages, it's about love, friendship and reflecting on the world," says the maverick director, who is aware of Western film codes but refuses them, who remains rooted in Africa despite his many travels.
Duration
86 minutes
Language
OV Mòoré
Subtitles
German, French, English, Italian, Spanish
Video Quality
1080p
Age recommendation
12+
Available in
Japan, Taiwan, Colombia, Brazil, Israel, Argentina, India, Mexico, South Korea, Chile, Egypt, Tunisia, Iran, Morocco, Palestine, China, Nepal, Switzerland, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, South Africa, Peru, Singapore, Belgium, Italy, Australia, Ecuador, United States, Canada, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Sweden, United Arab Emirates
Bonus
Short film Parlons grand-mère (34 Min.)

Zu Merkliste hinzugefügt
Von Merkliste entfernt
Die Anfrage ist fehlgeschlagen. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit dem Internet verbunden sind und versuchen Sie es erneut. Falls dies nicht weiterhilft unterstützen wir Sie gerne per e-Mail unter support@filmingo.de oder telefonisch unter +41 56 430 12 30
Um die Merkliste nutzen zu können, loggen Sie sich bitte ein oder registrieren Sie sich, falls Sie noch kein Konto bei uns haben.

Yaaba (1989)

Idrissa Ouedraogo, Burkina Faso

"Yaaba" ist Mooré und bedeutet in der Sprache der Mossi in Burkina Faso Grossmutter. Bila, ein zwölfjähriger Junge, nennt so die alte Sana, die bei den DorfbewohnerInnen als Hexe gilt und aus der Gemeinschaft verstossen wurde. Langsam fassen der Junge und die einsame Greisin Vertrauen zueinander. "Yaaba" erzählt auch ganz allgemein über das dörfliche Leben in Afrika. So fliessen viele Nebenaspekte ein: Streitigkeiten unter Eheleuten nicht nur in Bilas Familie, der Umgang im Dorf mit dem Säufer Noah, die Ausgestaltung eines grossen Festes, alltägliche Szenen beim Wasserholen, beim Verstauen von Vorräten oder auf dem Markt.

Als Bilas Cousine Nopoko an Tetanus erkrankt, wird Sanas "böser Blick" dafür verantwortlich gemacht. Bila bittet die alte Frau um Hilfe. Während sie zum Heiler Taryam unterwegs ist, zündet ein Mann aus dem Dorf ihre Hütte an. Eine liebevoll gestaltete, detailreiche, poetisch-märchenhafte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Erwachsenwerden. Idrissa Ouedraogo erzählt von der Schönheit der Steppe Westafrikas, vom Gang der würdigen Greisin und von der unbekümmerten Spielfreude der Kinder. Er bedient sich dabei überwiegend ruhiger Bilder und langer Einstellungen, die dem Betrachter Zeit geben, Einzelheiten zu erfassen. Die Schauspieler sind ausnahmslos Laien und stammen überwiegend aus dem Dorf, das als Drehort diente. Die alte Frau, die die Rolle der Sana spielt, hatte in ihrem Leben zudem nie zuvor einen Film gesehen. Einfühlsam und gleichnishaft plädiert "Yaaba" für mehr Toleranz und eine vorurteilsfreie Weltsicht.

Dauer
86 Minuten
Sprache
OV Mòoré
Untertitel
Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch, Italienisch, Spanisch
Video-Qualität
1080p
Altersempfehlung
12+
Verfügbarkeit
Weltweit
Bonus
Kurzfilm Parlons grand-mère (34 Min.)