Added to List
Removed from List
The request failed. Please make sure you are connected to the Internet and try again. If this does not help, we will be happy to support you by e-mail at support@filmingo.de or by phone at +41 56 430 12 30
In order to create a list, please log in or register in case you do not have an account yet.

Mishima - A Life In Four Chapters (1985)

Paul Schrader, Japan

Paul Schrader’s visually stunning, collage-like portrait of acclaimed Japanese author and playwright Yukio Mishima (played by Ken Ogata) investigates the inner turmoil and contradictions of a man who attempted an impossible harmony between self, art, and society. Taking place on Mishima’s last day, when he famously committed public seppuku, the film is punctuated by extended flashbacks to the writer’s life as well as by gloriously stylized evocations of his fictional works.

With its rich cinematography by John Bailey, exquisite sets and costumes by Eiko Ishioka, and unforgettable, highly influential score by Philip Glass, Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters is a tribute to its subject and a bold, investigative work of art in its own right.

   Classics
   East Asia
Duration
122 minutes
Language
OV Japanese/English
Subtitles
German, French
Video Quality
1080p
Available in
Germany

Zu Merkliste hinzugefügt
Von Merkliste entfernt
Die Anfrage ist fehlgeschlagen. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit dem Internet verbunden sind und versuchen Sie es erneut. Falls dies nicht weiterhilft unterstützen wir Sie gerne per e-Mail unter support@filmingo.de oder telefonisch unter +41 56 430 12 30
Um die Merkliste nutzen zu können, loggen Sie sich bitte ein oder registrieren Sie sich, falls Sie noch kein Konto bei uns haben.

Mishima - A Life In Four Chapters (1985)

Paul Schrader, Japan

Paul Schraders visuell überwältigendes, collageartiges Portrait des gefeierten japanischen Künstlers, Schriftstellers und (fast) Revolutionärs Yukio Mishima, hevorragend verkörpert durch Ken Ogata, liegt nun in restaurierter Fassung vor. Mit dem gänzlich in Japan gedrehten Film schuf Schrader eine stilisierte Biographie der Figur des kaisertreuen, nationalistischen Künstlers über dessen innere Zerrissenheit und die unmögliche Aufgabe, Harmonie zwischen sich selbst, der Kunst und der Gesellschaft zu finden.

Der von George Lucas und Francis Coppola mitproduzierte Film spielt am letzten Tag in Mishimas Leben, bevor dieser das berühmte öffentliche Seppuku (ein traditioneller Selbstmord) beging. In Rückblenden werden Teile aus seinem Leben gezeigt und mit verfilmten Szenen aus seinen literarischen Werken verbunden, sodass ein Gesamteindruck des Werkes und Lebens von Yukio Mishima entsteht.

Paul Schrader machte sich in der New Hollywood Ära einen Namen und schrieb unter anderem das Drehbuch zu Taxi Driver.

   Klassiker
   Ostasien
Dauer
122 Minuten
Sprache
OV Japanisch/Englisch
Untertitel
Deutsch, Französisch
Video-Qualität
1080p
Verfügbarkeit
Deutschland